Sad but true

We have started to play in our campuses a song called “Healer” by the man shown above. It appears his story of fighting cancer is NOT true.

“Michael has confirmed that he is not suffering with a terminal illness and is seeking professional help in Adelaide with the support of his family.

“We are asking our church to pray for the Guglielmucci family during this difficult time.”

“This news has come as a great shock to everyone including, it seems, his own wife and family,” Hillsong general manager George Aghajanian said in an email to his congregation yesterday.

Anybody really bothered by this?

Marc-

Phillippians 1-15 thru 18

20 Comments

Filed under Hallandale Beach

20 responses to “Sad but true

  1. wow, it does bother me, just read the full article on it. How sad.

  2. This song has really blessed people, it’s insane to know that the author really was faking this whole thing, isn’t it amazing to do something that blesses people but still be so lost?

  3. Juliana

    It’s shocking to know that someone would do that… i just feel really sorry, and put in my prayers the people from Hillsong and his family who bought the whole lie and probably the ones most affected in this situation… Because this gives bad publicity to Hillsong and what they have accomplished so far. I also pray for the people who were new believers in Christ, because after this anyone can leave saying “well, if these are so called “christians” then why do i even bother…” it has happened before, in different situations. Which just comes to prove that we need to only fix our eyes in God and try to understand that we are just people, we are NOT perfect and we make mistakes. =[

  4. Chris Brown

    I agree and totally endorse the angle in which this post was written. So often Christians cast stones at others who make mistakes when we should pray for those who make mistakes and show them the same Grace we have received. “Hate the sin but love on the sinner” – that is what we are about here at Flamingo Road Church. It is through that Grace that people will see their need for the real thing and ultimately reach their potential.

  5. For all those who have been afflicted by cancer; for those who have lost someone to cancer, it’s very sad that he could take this terrible disease and add a fallacy to it. But….it’s also a terrible disease for me to judge him for it…

  6. Lauren

    literally I had to force shut my mouth that is the most disturbing yet sadening thing I’ve hear in a while. It changes everything that I’ve ever felt for that song. I can’t imagine the feeling that people with or have ever experienced cancer might have!

  7. Dan

    I find it shocking, but really it was totally unnecessary. The song is so moving, and the words say it all. I still tear up when I hear some of my favorite worship standards, like “I surrender all” or “I need you Jesus.” I don’t need some made up story of terminal cancer to have an effect. Even working backstage I am affected by our worship team (You guys rule!). It will always be the words and the message to me, I do feel sorry for him, but I don’t judge. Who am I to judge? I still believe that Jesus is my “Healer”

  8. wow.. not really happy about it . but it seems to be a great song.. we can only pray and hope that we reach people with this song..

  9. Markemix

    There will be people who will hear the song, today, tomorrow, next week or next year – the people I speak of may never know who wrote or sings it, and/or they may never know all the drama unfolding currently. They will however, be touched, moved and led closer to Christ because of this song. God has got crazy mad skills like that, of this I am certain.

  10. One comment wouldn’t be enough to express how shocked and saddened I am by this … but then again .. I am reminded of how the Apostle Paul would’ve responded to this …

    “But so what? Just this-that in every way, whether by false or true motives, Christ is being proclaimed. Because of this, I rejoice and will continue to rejoice. – Phillipians 1:18

    -Heredes

  11. I remember seeing the video about his story. It was amazing to hear how this song came to be. Now to find out he does not have cancer, it is upsetting to hear he did this. Being that I lost a friend and family to cancer makes this even worse. This should never be reason even do this, especially to your family. I hope he gets the help that he needs. One last thing, despite that he did this does not make him any worse than me because we will all make mistakes in life. We are not perfect only God is perfect.

  12. Jessica

    Super shocking and sad..it is a comfort to know that even though it was like this, this song has blessed many people including myself and will continue to. I read something that really touched me about this topic that read (about the song)”These lyrics are still true. And in the end, its the heart that sings them, that owns them, that makes them real.

    The authenticity of worship resides not in the composer of a song, but rather in the heart of the singer.ā€ ā€“ Batsirai Chada.

  13. Jenny

    I feel for the people affected by this untrue statement because, sure enough, it must have brought great grief to those who love him.

  14. Michel Matthew Mulchan

    It is a very disturbing thing the know that something like this comes from a such anointed ministry. I am deeply saddened to know this has taken place. We are all humans and make mistakes. I will not judge him but God will deal with his soul once he stands before the gates of heaven. I pray that the world doesn’t judge aswell. Right now he needs our prayers more than anything else in this world!

    MMM

  15. Steve Leer

    I was very struck by the similarity between this sad story and an hymn from 250 years ago – ‘Thine Is the Power’. The hymn was extremely popular in Great Britain and the U.S. – everywhere except Scotland. It seems that the hymn was dedicated to the Duke of Cumberland who had just finished putting down a civil war with Scotland at Culloden and was known as the Bloody Duke (at least in Scotland). It is sad that we find it so difficult to separate the good from the bad. If we are to hate the sin but love the sinner, why do I have such a hard time separating my feelings?

    God amazes me. I have seen with my children that admitting my mistakes and weaknesses seems almost always to have a stronger impact than the day-to-day good examples that I set. I pray that Michael (like maybe King David?) can use this as a witnessing opportunity to show the power of forgiveness and redemptive works.

  16. Janis

    I am a two-time cancer survivor, and so yes, it shocks me that the story is false. Yet my reaction is not to judge but to pray God will bring a different type of healing to his life. We all need healing of some kind and God will always be the greatest Physician. Knowing the original story had some effect on my first hearing the song, but as Jessica pointed out in an earlier comment, any song we sing only has power as God uses in others’ lives and as we let the lyrics and music lead us to worship God in our own hearts and hopefully then help others worship as well. This song still is powerful to my spirit and that doesn’t change, because He is my healer, has been in the past, and will be in the future.

  17. MaiLee

    Well, it is not so much shocking as it is sad. We are Christians but we are not perfect and we each have issues that we struggle with. I am however sad for those who would give anything to be able to just wish their cancer away. I am also sad for Micheal because for whatever reason he felt he needed to create a lie about him struggling with this disease in order to sing about his Healer…Jesus is indeed the Healer though Micheal may not need healing from cancer it is obvious that he does in fact need healing. My prayers go out to all those who are truly struggling with cancer and for all those affected by this lie. Regardless of how the song came to be it rings true to each of us and I cannot deny the emotion that consumes me when I sing about my Healer.

  18. Spotlight -Bob

    This is real life people,

    In the end it’s isn’t he lied that matters ….is is that he was wounded enough to do it ….this is the front line.
    This is where we must all focus our attention.
    If the crime is the focus and the place where people judge and that is too late …..look at the heart of a man /woman and see the wounds there and bring the light of Jesus/God there.

    Often many come to a church or a social organization with a wounded EGO ( from childhood etc. ) and they put salve on it by taking on a roll of importance as if it will fix the wound …it can’t ….but we can ! ….by bringing absolute true unaltering acceptance and love to each wounded person and the wound then must disappear. Darkness cannot exist in light.

    My son born with ADD had such a wound and his unending search for importance and acceptance took his life with an overdose…. The act of a lie isn’t the battle ground ….the fact this person should feel so alone is.
    Blessings to you all ….go out right now and see the wounds in yourself and others and flood them with love. bob

  19. Willy Vega

    Wow…I’m so sad to hear the story…why why I ask myself. Only God knows I don’t really know much about the whole true story, but what I know and believe is that GOD IS MY HEALER, HE IS ALL I NEED, HE IS MY PORTION, HE IS MORE THAN ENOUGH FOR ME…NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR HIM, AND THAT IS ALL THAT MATTERS!!! I pray for the imperfect children of God—-US—

  20. Angel

    . . . my heart almost stopped when i read this on twitter… and later the news article.. i just pray for those affected.. i personally need a healer, i think we all do in some way.. GOD IS MY HEALER, HE IS ALL I NEED.

Leave a Reply

