What does “Hosanna” mean?

“What does the word hosanna really mean?

In the New Testament, Jesus entered into Jerusalem as their King, riding on a donkey’s colt.”

…And the multitude that went before and that followed cried saying, ‘Hosanna to the Son of David! Blessed is He who comes in the name of the Lord: Hosanna in the highest’.” And, later on that day, when Jesus was in the temple, the courtyard of the temple was full of children crying out, “Hosanna to the son of David.”

This made the priests very angry. They wanted Jesus to stop the children’s mouths, and they said to Him, “Don’t you know what these little ones are saying?”

Jesus answered, “Yes, haven’t you ever read, ‘Out of the mouths of babes and sucklings thou has perfected praise’? Jesus quoted this from Psalm eight.

What made the Priests so angry was that they knew very well what Hosanna meant and where it came from. It is a quote from Psalm 118 and verse 25.

Hosanna is a prayer that can only be said to Jehovah. These children were calling Jesus the Son of David and Jehovah, just as Jeremiah had done in Chapter 23, verses 5 and 6. Hoasanna means, “Save us! please!”

-Since we, as believers are already saved and redeemed, it is an echo of our gratitude to God, a thanks to Him in worship for rescuing us.

Join our Sawgrass team this weekend as we lift up His name “Hosanna, Hosanna, Hosanna in the highest”

-Fuller

55 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

55 responses to “What does “Hosanna” mean?

  1. Great song.. I’ll be there..

  2. willy v

    wow awesome song, never knew what it really meant. Thanks fuller…

  3. willy v

    wow awesome song, never knew what it really meant. Thanks fuller…

  4. allen

    great word bro-great new song too!

  5. Arman

    Hossana Meus
    Fortuna Deus
    Aeterna Teus
    Mystrie, Morte, Sancte, Prior!

    Fortuna, Hossana meus
    Legionus ab comae
    Fortuna, fortuna equis
    Ad pugnatoris, in veritae

    Hossana meus, fortuna deus
    Protego causa in sanctus
    Aeternus praetor, firmitas semper
    Coryphaeus, rex Regis univers

    Prosay solis hossana
    Protego Sanctus causa
    Padre illuminata
    Gloria in resurrectum

    Prosay solis hossana
    Protego Sanctus causa
    Padre illuminata
    Gloria in unum Diem

    Terra tenebrae, telluris malus
    Quiseri pere curiatus
    Genitor edo, in ex domino
    Patris illuminata, rex Regis Univers

  6. Paul

    WOW , learned alot from that.It would be a good one to share with are morman and J.W. friends . If it is only to be a prayer to God that would mean that Jesus God.Right?

  7. Paul

    WOW , learned alot from that.It would be a good one to share with are morman and J.W. friends . If it is only to be a prayer to God that would mean that Jesus is God.Right?

  8. rebeckah

    i love this song…
    and i knew what the word ‘Hosanna’ meant
    but i have forgot

    and thanks to this website i found what it meant again (thanks)

    ‘hosanna in the Highest’

  9. rebeckah

    this is me again and i like to say that

    I LOVE THIS SONG…

  10. Iya

    i love the song very much now that I know what it meant. never had the chance before until now that I am in front of my lappy. btw, thanks for posting this !

  11. Angela

    You wrote:Hosanna is a prayer that can only be said to Jehovah. These children were calling Jesus the Son of David and Jehovah, just as Jeremiah had done in Chapter 23, verses 5 and 6. Hoasanna means, “Save us! please!”

    I don’t believe this is correct. They were giving homage to the Anointed One, Messiah, Christ, who came to save them in the name of YHWH. They weren’t saying in some ‘code’ that Jesus was actually YHWH. That’s really reading more into the text than is there and is very incorrect Scripturally.

  12. Abdul-Mehdi

    Hosanna is come from Arabic word Hosan na or more accurate Hosain nah. It is a cry with tears to save and bless imam Hosain who sucrify by himself for God aganist the enamy of our God and our enamy Yazid bin Muawiyah in Battle of Karbala. Imam Hosain is the most freeman who learn peoples how to be free and get freedom. please read more at many websites like: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Husayn_ibn_Ali

  13. Daniel

    I was reading the very scripture today in a prayer meeting, And I was just listening to the song Hosanna and The thought came to mean what does Hosanna mean? Thankyou.

  14. You’re right. They were calling out to the Annointed One. And He is both the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, better known as the Trinity. He was also both human and divine. So when these children were calling His name they were calling out the only true and living God. so no matter how you say it it still comes out Hosanna in the highest. And I love the song to.

  15. I don’t think that Hosanna means “save me Lord” to me Hossana means more than that. Hosanna Means Praises and Adoration, when Jesus entered the Jerusalem as their King, the multitude was Praising and Adored him they did not say Save me Lord.

  16. Ev

    Thank you all for your input. Listening to the song as I type. (; I was curious to have a deeper understanding. <3

  17. Hossana to the HIGHEST!

  18. Anonymous

    It Is very good for little kids to learn about the bible

  19. Anonymous

    Why ask God to save us again if He’s already saved us? Christians shouldn’t be singing this song. Same reason we shouldn’t ask for the Holy Spirit to come since He’s not going to do again what He’s already done.

  20. anonymous, He saved us yes but we have to work and do our part we have to repent of things we have done wrong and i dont know about anyone else but i find myself asking for help on anything a test i forgot to study for a date thats going wrong.. He saves me everyday. no matter how big or small what im going thruogh is i know in my heart that He is there.

  21. Abdul-Mehdi

    We cry, we shout, we swear our God,” We shall never forget Hosain na”. Hosan na means our Hosan in Arabic,Hosain na means our Hosain. I think that Jesus pease be upon him tell people about future Hosan=Hosain or our Hosan= Hosan na=Hosanna and his battle for Right aganist Evil army in Karbala, Iraq.See please

  22. Abdul-Mehdi

    Hosan na mean O my God save our Hosan = Hosan na from unbelievers who will kill him. See tha last prayer of Hosanna to our God the Creature of all of us and any thing in the battle in desert. I want to believe like him:

  23. Abdul-Mehdi

    See this Prayer of Hosanna !

  24. To Angela,
    Jesus Is God!
    John 1:1; 14 – John 10:30 – Colossians 1:16-19 – Hebrews 1:8 – 1st. John 5:7

  25. Emmanuel Willis

    We’re not asking Him to sacrifice Himself again. But each of us need to be saved from our own personal sins. Keep in mind, sin still exists in the world. And everyone still commits them. Therefore we all need to be saved by Him, from them. By accepting Him into our Spirit man.

  26. pratham

    I love this song

  27. PRAISE,S AND ADORED HIM

  28. HOSSANA IN THE HIGHEST!!!!

  29. HOSSANA IN THE HIGHEST!!!!!!

  30. Anonymous

    Thanks it really help me.

  31. Thomas Mukasa Bisobye

    oh my God,thank you!! May you kindly bless our interpreters,I have now know the meaning of the word HOSANNA.Am Thomas from Kampala Uganda.

  32. Thomas Mukasa Bisobye

    Oh my God,thank you!! May you kindly bless our interpreters abundantly.I have now known the meaning of the wonderful word HOSANNA.Am Thomas Mukasa Bisobye from Kampala Uganda.

  33. Anonymous

    save us please

  34. Charlie

    Praise the LORD in the Highest Praise!!! Hallelujah!!!!! Yesterday’s church service was wonderful, I am feeling the Spirit of the LORD so intensely, to GOD be the glory during this wonderful week leading up to Easter Sunday! wooooooooooooo Sweet, Sweet JESUS!!

  35. Tori

    To me personally “hosanna” is a PRAYER or call to the lord to save me and also it is a PRAISE thanking him for saving me. Today is Easter Sunday. The word “hosanna” has been in my head all day long which I find very odd. Of all things why would I suddenly think “hosanna, hosanna…” all day? I never realized why until now. It’s because today, many years ago, is the day he saved me by paying the ultimate price, then rising up to save us from sin. So that I may say, “hosanna” to him.

    Thank the lord that I have been saved today! :)

  36. Adam

    That is so GREAT! Bless our LORD…

  37. Arno

    Thanks bro. for the information it will help me to know the best words to use when reffering to God and what they mean

  38. after watching the prayer video by abdul mehdi,the word hosanna brings to me its literal meaning…”please save me”..bee.

  39. Jill

    Just so you know, your Mormon friends do believe that Jesus Christ is Jehovah, God of the Old Testament. So grateful to and for Him!!

  40. Veronica Hamel

    Another great example of biblical story telling which actually means very little and does it using a maximum number of words and in its customary anecdotal style. In a few words, alot of hogwash and crap.

  41. Anonymous

    Tnkx alot for this explanation.last year it ws 2012 january i found out that i’m pregnent then i told d father of d bby then he said to mi dts baby is not mine.give it to his father i dn’t know wht to do many thing were over my head bt god save me on not doing an abortion even if it was that difficult.i was in the middle of my exemz when all ds happn at d some time i found out that m hiv positive my mind go craize i was thnkng of taking my soul bt god save me again.he sad to me you still have your education u can pass this brigde then i listen.i start learning to hard & forget about evrythng.when i ws eight mounths my blood pressere bcome higher then they toke me to the hospital.i was having nose bleed cramps evry where in my body i was vomiting at d some time tnkx god my exems where over i ws waitng for my result.when i go to hospital they take me to theater for emediatly oparation my life ws in dangear.thn operation went vry well.then when they ask for the name of d bby i jst sad its hosana.anly thing i was now about this name is that m praising god bt now i know alot you realy help me.i wsn’t thnkn how many timez god saves me bt ths make me thinking &adore& praise god more in my life

  42. Mike thenah ph

    Ok dats de meaning of Hossana?thnx

  43. Anonymous

    i am more confused now than before

  44. please save us… “HOSANNA” i lov dis song.

  45. Molefe Mogomotsi

    Oh thank U, as i was reading dis today it kept me thinking a lot abt challenges our church is going thru. Challenges dat makes me realise dat our church parish neede a renamning dat is meant to revived and save us, challenges that are intended to collapse de mission of evanglican. I thought well i am going propose a renaming to Hosanna Parish carrying a theme psalm 118:25. Yes lord my lord. Amen

  46. Molefe Mogomotsi

    Oh thank U, as i was reading dis today it kept me thinking a lot abt challenges our church is going thru. Challenges dat makes me realise dat our church parish neede a renamning dat is meant to revived and save us, challenges that are intended to collapse de mission of evanglican. I thought well i am going propose a renaming to Hosanna Parish carrying a theme psalm 118:25. Yes lord my lord. Amen. Brother Molefe Young Adult League Secretariat

  47. james o. I. ( NIGERIA)

    Thank you I got a deeper meaning of Hossana today.

  48. Anonymous

    Hosanna

  49. virginie

    Hosanna today to Him who rescues me without ceasing. Though am a born again child of God, there still are situations where i need Him as i shout HOSANNA TO THE MOST HIGH! And when i remember what He’s done for me, again i cry HOSANNA!
    Hosanna, hosanna, hosanna!

  50. Ramso sarunao

    As i was born in christian family, but i haven’ t open my eyes the true meaning of hosanna, im in profoundly yet to assur towards my peoples to harden about His futures glory. Zacchariah 9:9 Matthew 21:9 encourage me alots….

  51. Isidore

    Great i never knew what it meant

  52. Anonymous

    very good out line

  53. segun at nigeria

    very good out line

Leave a Reply

